The Southern Maine Regional Planning Commission is a council of governments serving thirty-nine member municipalities from Kittery, at the southern tip of York County, to Stoneham, at the edge of the White Mountain National Forest.

Founded in 1964 in response to an identified need for a coordinated effort for economic development and resource management, SMRPC has been conducting economic development, housing, and water quality planning and providing technical assistance to the municipalities in the region for thirty-eight years.